01 April 2013

Time for the Q1 2013 Championship!

The first quarter of 2013 is now history. And that means....it's time for the next championship competition! It also means that we are fast approaching the 3rd anniversary of the PL/SQL Challenge, but I'll talk more about that in the next newsletter.

The following players will be invited to participate in the Q1 2013 championship. The number in parentheses after their names are the number of playoffs in which they have already participated.

See the FAQ for an explanation of the three ways a player can qualify for the playoff.

And congratulations to all listed below on their accomplishment and best of luck in the upcoming competition! Note that there are two first-time championship contestants....and two players have now reached their tenth championship!

We will announce the date for the championship as soon as players are invited and we confirm that a sufficient number can play on that date.

Name Rank Qualification Country
swart260 (3)1Top 25Netherlands
mentzel.iudith (9)2Top 25Israel
Stelios Vlasopoulos (6)3Top 25Belgium
Niels Hecker (10)4Top 25Germany
Justin Cave (8)5Top 25United States
Rakesh Dadhich (1)6Top 25India
Mike Pargeter (9)7Top 25United Kingdom
Vincent Malgrat (4)8Top 25French Republic
Siim Kask (9)9Top 25Estonia
puchtec (1)10Top 25Germany
Viacheslav Stepanov (8)11Top 25Russia
Janis Baiza (5)12Top 25Latvia
kowido (8)13Top 25No Country Set
Chad Lee (7)14Top 25United States
james su (5)15Top 25Canada
Frank Schrader (10)16Top 25Germany
Matthias Rogel (1)17Top 25Germany
Milibor Jovanovic (1)18Top 25United Kingdom
Jerry Bull (7)19Top 25United States
Randy Gettman (9)20Top 25United States
Ajaykumar Gupta (0)21Top 25Singapore
Dieter Kowalski (3)22Top 25Germany
Veera Marimuthu (0)23Top 25Singapore
Vinu (2)24Top 25India
Frank Schmitt (4)25Top 25Germany
Zoltan Fulop (4)26WildcardHungary
Jeroen Rutte (3)27WildcardNetherlands
Giedrius Deveikis (2)28WildcardLithuania
Ivan Blanarik (4)31CorrectnessSlovakia
macabre (3)55CorrectnessRussia
Kevan Gelling (7)59CorrectnessIsle of Man
dannyg64 (1)60CorrectnessUnited States
Rohan Gray (0)61WildcardUnited States
Michal Cvan (7)62CorrectnessSlovakia
Rimantas Adomauskas (2)64CorrectnessLithuania
Thierry Poels (4)92CorrectnessBelgium
Ingimundur Gudmundsson (0)125CorrectnessNorway
Carlos Eduardo Mayorga Rodriguez (2)137CorrectnessColombia
Dan Kiser (3)242CorrectnessUnited States