17 July 2013

Q2 2013 Championship will NOT be held on 3 August

It is tough finding a time in the summer to play the Championship! Enough players said "no" to 3 August to trigger the rule that says: "Find a new date!" So the championship will not be held on 3 August. We will poll our players and find a better date - and for this second attempt, we will shift back to a weekday, not the weekend.

15 July 2013

Q2 2013 PL/SQL Championship to be held on 3 August

The second quarter of 2013 is now history. And that means....it's time for the next championship competition!

The following players will be invited to participate in the Q2 2013 championship. The number in parentheses after their names are the number of playoffs in which they have already participated.

See the FAQ for an explanation of the three ways a player can qualify for the playoff.

And congratulations to all listed below on their accomplishment and best of luck in the upcoming competition! We have six first-time championship players and many veterans of this fine competition.

This championship will be different from past events in two important ways:

Everyone will play at the same time: 3 August 16:00 UTC. Which means we are also holding the championship on a Saturday, the first time ever that we play on the weekend. Our three players from the Asia-Pacific region (who will be playing in the very early morning) have graciously accepted this additional challenge. Everyone else is in Europe and the United States, so it shouldn't be too painful. :-) We shall see how it goes!

Name Rank Qualification Country
Ajaykumar Gupta (1)1Top 25Singapore
Rakesh Dadhich (2)2Top 25India
Janis Baiza (6)3Top 25Latvia
swart260 (4)4Top 25Netherlands
mentzel.iudith (10)5Top 25Israel
Stelios Vlasopoulos (7)6Top 25Belgium
Chris Saxon (5)7Top 25United Kingdom
Vinu Garg (3)8Top 25India
Milibor Jovanovic (2)9Top 25Serbia
Mike Pargeter (10)10Top 25United Kingdom
Ivan Blanarik (5)11Top 25Slovakia
Viacheslav Stepanov (9)12Top 25Russia
Niels Hecker (11)13Top 25Germany
Veera Marimuthu (1)14Top 25Singapore
Vincent Malgrat (5)15Top 25French Republic
Frank Schrader (11)16Top 25Germany
kowido (9)17Top 25Germany
Jeroen Rutte (4)18Top 25Netherlands
Dieter Kowalski (4)19Top 25Germany
Jerry Bull (8)20Top 25United States
Siim Kask (10)21Top 25Estonia
Jason H (1)22Top 25United States
Leszek Grudzień (0)23Top 25Poland
Tony Winn (2)24Top 25Australia
Frank Schmitt (5)25Top 25Germany
Peter Schmidt (3)31CorrectnessGermany
Joaquin Gonzalez (5)32WildcardSpain
Chad Lee (8)33CorrectnessUnited States
Matthias Rogel (2)34WildcardGermany
Naresh Kumar (0)35WildcardIndia
Jan Soubusta (0)48WildcardCzech Republic
Alexey Ponomarenko (0)77WildcardUkraine
Yuan Tschang (6)85CorrectnessUnited States
Randy Gettman (10)94CorrectnessUnited States
Pavel Noga (0)96CorrectnessCzech Republic
Michal Cvan (8)107CorrectnessSlovakia
Livio (0)332CorrectnessLuxembourg